icon of a microphone

Polling Places & City Election Information

(843) 918-1004

Jennifer Adkins, City Clerk


The Election Commission of the City of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, announces the city's runoff election date as Tuesday, November 19, 2019.  The election determines one undecided City Council seat.  City elections are non-partisan and at-large, with members serving four-year terms.  All precincts vote for all candidates.  


Here's a list of polling places in Myrtle Beach...

  • Coastal Lane #1 – Horry County Complex, 1201 21st Avenue North
  • Coastal Lane #2 – Mary C. Canty Recreation Center, 971 Canal Street
  • Dunes #1 – Fire Station No. 5, 804 79th Avenue North
  • Jetport #1 – Fire Station No. 3, 2108 South Kings Highway
  • Jetport #2 – General Robert H. Reed Recreation Center, 800 Gabreski Lane
  • Myrtlewood #1 – Myrtle Beach Middle School, 3101 North Oak Street
  • Myrtlewood #2 – Fire Station No. 6, 970 38th Avenue North
  • Myrtlewood #3 – Myrtle Beach Church of Christ, 4500 Wild Iris Drive
  • Ocean Forest #1 – Ocean View Baptist Church, 7300 North Kings Highway
  • Ocean Forest #2 – Claire Chapin Epps Family YMCA, 5000 Claire Chapin Epps Drive
  • Ocean Forest #3 – First Freewill Baptist Church, 900A 67th Avenue North
  • Sea Oats #1 – Gymnasium, First Baptist Church, 500 Fourth Avenue North
  • Sea Oats #2 – Midway Missionary Baptist Church, 1110 Highway 15
  • Surfside #4 – Lakewood Elementary, 1675 Highway 396
Voting Precincts 2019


In 2019, voters will utilize South Carolina's new voting system.  The process begins when a voter inserts a ballot into an electronic device.  Then, a voter selects candidates using an electronic touch screen.  Lastly, the device prints the voter's selections on the inserted document, which provides a secure paper record.  To learn more and watch a how-to video, visit the South Carolina Election Commission's Paper-Based Voting System webpage.

The polls open on election day at 7:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m.  After the polls close, the Municipal Election Commission counts absentee ballots and election day ballots in the courtroom at the Ted C. Collins Law Enforcement Center, 1101 North Oak Street.  The commission then meets at City Hall at 10:00 a.m. on the following Thursday to certify the election and determine the validity of ballots challenged in the election.  A run-off, if needed, will be held two weeks following the election day.


Citizens who desire to vote in the upcoming election must have registered by October 5, 2019.  To register, contact the Horry County Voter Registration Office at 843-915-5440 or visit  Or, visit the office, located at 1515 Fourth Avenue, in Conway.  Absentee ballots must be obtained through Horry County Voter Registration.


The filing period opened at 12:00 p.m., Friday, August 23, 2019, and closed at 12:00 p.m., Friday, September 6, 2019.  City elections are non-partisan (no party affiliation listed on ballot) and at-large, with members serving four-year terms.  Prospective candidates must file a Statement of Candidacy with the City Clerk by the filing deadline.  The South Carolina Ethics Commission also requires a statement of economic interest and a campaign disclosure form (no filing fee).  Questions?  Contact City Clerk Jennifer Adkins at for information.